Mathematics for CS graduate programs

In summary, it is important to consider the requirements of the specific graduate program you are interested in and the type of research you want to do when deciding how many math courses to take. Some programs may have more rigorous math requirements, while others may not require as many courses. It is best to research and contact the department to determine the appropriate number of math courses for your specific goals.
kinof
Hi guys. I'm a freshman computer science major just finishing up discrete math and calculus I. I am strongly considering graduate school as an option, which I am sure is quite a bit more math-intensive than undergrad is (which obviously doesn't stress theory as much). Right now, my is to take calc II and III, linear algebra, ODEs, discrete math II, real analysis, some sort of computational math course, and maybe PDEs or a higher-level course like abstract algebra. What is an appropriate number of math courses to have for, say a top 20 CS graduate program? The actual math requirements for the computer science major at my school are fairly meager, so deciding to take all these extra math courses would obviously be a pretty big commitment (hopefully I won't have to stay here for more than four years). Is this more than I need? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
It really depends on the graduate program and the type of research you want to do. Generally speaking, most top-tier computer science graduate programs would expect you to have taken Calc II and III, linear algebra, ODEs, discrete math II, real analysis, computational math, and maybe PDEs. However, it is possible that some programs might require additional courses or more advanced courses in certain areas. It really depends on the program and the research you want to do. If you are unsure what courses are necessary for a particular program, it might be best to contact the department directly and ask about their specific math requirements.