Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Maths and high speed

1. Oct 25, 2007 #1
    Hello! :)

A few questions out of pure interest here that I figured someone on the forum will probably be able to help me with.

Just wondering, in terms of maths, has there been any relationship found between the speed that you are travelling and the difference in time (from how it slows down)? So, say I wanted to travel at 99% of the speed of light for 2 years, would there be any 'equation' that could tell how many years in the future you actually are?
    I'm guessing there is no real experimental data to play with, but it just crossed my mind.

I'm pretty new to this subject, so it could turn out I have no idea what I'm on about.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 25, 2007 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

You understand, don't you, that this is a physics problem, not a mathematics problem?
    Yes, there is such a formula, developed in physics, that, like any formula is written in mathematics terminology. It is, if I remember properly, that it is
    [tex]t'= t\sqrt{1- \frac{v^2}{c^2}}}[/tex]
    But you have to be careful how you interpret that. That says, that, as spaceship A passes plane B with speed v (relative to the planet), while people on planet A have "t" years pass, they will observe the people on spaceship A aging only t' years. Of course, since velocity is relative, people on spaceship A will see planet B passing them at speed v and will observe exactly the opposite.

The difficulty with your scenario is that, while you say "travel at 99% of the speed of light for 2 years", you don't say whether that 2 years is measured in the space ship or on a frame of reference that the ship is traveling at 99% the speed of light. Of course, in the "spaceship" frame of reference, the ship is not traveling at all.