1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Maths required for physics

1. Aug 13, 2012 #1
    http://www.khanacademy.org/math/calculus?k

Can I get honest opinions from the professional physicists out there? Will the course at that link give me a basic enough grounding in calculus to understand everything up to say SR, GR, QED and QCD? I've got the required maths up to trigonometry.

And yes, my studies will have to be self-taught. No, I'll not be more than an amateur in my studies. I just want to be able to work out the maths behind some of the most basic phenomena behind our existence; right now, I just have to take a person at their word. Which isn't very satisfying as you can imagine. :)

Thanks for your insights.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 13, 2012 #2
    Dang, I just saw the post right before mine..Embarrasing

4. Aug 13, 2012 #3
    Your topics are still different, to some extent.

You're much better off getting a book on Calculus than you are learning Calculus entirely from that website. Not that the KhanAcademy isn't a valuable resource, but you shouldn't be learning an entire branch of mathematics just from watching videos.

A quick search for Calculus textbooks: https://www.physicsforums.com/search.php?searchid=3344868 [Broken].

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  5. Aug 13, 2012 #4
    Thanks, so you think that a solid understanding of calculus will allow me to work through the fundamental equations that describe SR, GR, QED and QCD?

I'll have to look and see which authors people recommend.

6. Aug 13, 2012 #5
    I'm not really qualified to answer a question like that. All that I do know is that, if you want to learn Calculus, learn it from books and not videos.

7. Aug 13, 2012 #6