Finding Root of 8x^3-36x^2+54x-12=0 Using Bisection Method

In summary, the student is new to using MATLAB and needs help solving a numerical analysis problem using the bisection method. They have read some textbooks but are struggling to implement the algorithm correctly. After receiving guidance and clarification, they plan to work on two more questions on their own.
azizul85
Hi,
Im new to Matlab, and my lecturer asked me to do his question which is:
Find one root of equation 8x^3-36x^2+54x-12=0 using the bisection method.
Your answer must includethe number of iterations.

Ive already read the Introduction to MATLAB 7, and Numerical Methods for Engineers. And the only clue that i get is:

Step 1: choose lower x1 and upper x2 guesses for the root such that the function changes sign over interval. This can be checked by ensuring that f(x1).f(x2)<0

Step 2: an estimate of the root xr is determined by xr=(x1+x2)/2

Step 3: Make the following evaluations to determine in which subinterval the root lies
a) if f(x1).f(x2)<0, the root lies in the lower subinterval. Therefore, set x2=xr and return to step 2
b) if f(x1).f(x2)>0, the root lies in upper subinterval. Therefore, set x1=xr and return to step 2
c) if f(x1).f(x2)=0, the root equals xr, terminate the computation.

This is what i did, and i know it is completely wrong.
can anybody please help/guide me solving this question, PLEASE!

%program question 1 Numerical analysis
%Find one root of equation 8x^3-36x^2+54x-4(P+Q)=0
%where P=1,Q=2
disp('8x^3-36x^2+54x-12=0')
disp('choose lower x1 and upper x2 guesses for the roots')
x1=input('x1=')
x2=input('x2=')
a=x1
b=x2
f(x1)=(8*x1^3)-(36*x1^2)+(54*x1)-12
f(x2)=(8*x2^3)-(36*x2^2)+(54*x2)-12
xr=(a+b)/2
iter=0
e=f(x1)*f(x2)
for e=0
while e<0
xr=(a+xr)/2
iter=iter+1
end
while e>0
xr=(xr+b)/2
iter=iter+1
end
end
disp('root')
disp(xr)
disp('number of iterations')
disp(iter)

Physics news on Phys.org
azizul85 said: