Calculating Max Height & Time of Rifle Trajectory at 300 Yards

In summary: He is asking if he can use calculus to find the maximum height of the round at a specific point in its flight path. This is a difficult problem to solve analytically, and so it is not often explicitly proven. However, if you assume the bullet is subject to uniform gravity and that drag is not a factor, then the equation for the maximum height of the round can be solved using a derivative function. In this case, the function would be h(t) = 4t^2+48t+3. The time t at which the maximum height is reached would be found by solving for it.
surferbarney0729
I am a formal instructor and one of the classes I teach revolves
around the ballistics of a bullet. I am currently in a Calculus class
and will be starting as an Economics major In the fall when I finish
my time in the Marines. I am hoping to see if there is any way,
through calculus that I can prove the max height of the round through
actual mathematical proof. Many of the lesson plans and outlines
simply indentify what I have attached below and do not mention proof
of this. I am simply curious if I can prove the max height of the
round and at what time during its flight path does it reach this
height. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Below is a simple
diagram of a rifle trajectory at 300 yards. I attached the image to
give a preliminary view of what I am referencing.

Maximum Ordinate - The highest point in the trajectory of the round
on its route to the target
The event I would like to know if I can prove is how high the maximum
ordinate should be. I am new to calculus and especially the
application of calculus to real world events. Can I use a Derivative
function formula to find the max?

If so, what variables do I need for this, the rounds are all constant,
and with that the velocity of the round at specific ranges is also
fixed (in theory).
Would I use a function like h(t) = 4t^2+48t+3 to find the maximum h