Calculating Mean Free Path of Molecules in a Test Tube

In summary, the mean free path of the molecules in the test tube can be calculated using the equation λ = 1/ pi * d^2 * n, where d is the diameter of the test tube and n is the density of molecules. The distance traveled between two subsequent collisions is given by the formula \lambda = \frac{L}{N}= \frac{1}{d^2\pi n}.
n.hirsch1

Homework Statement

A test tube of cylindrical shape having a length of 10 cm and a diameter of 2 cm contains 20 * 10 ^23 molecules (molecular size d = 3 * 10^-10 m). What is the mean free path of these molecules??

Homework Equations

λ = 1/ pi * d^2 * n

The Attempt at a Solution

This is an equation I have never used before and my textbook doesn't help with either. I tried to solve it by:
1 / pi * (2 cm)^2 * (20 * 10^23 / 3*10^-12 cm)
I haven't ever done something like it before, am I on the right track with this?

Physics news on Phys.org
The mean free path is the distance between two subsequent collisions between the molecules. When the molecules touch each other, their centres are d distance apart (d is the diameter). The molecules are in motions and will collide with all molecules along their path get closer to centre -to centre than the diameter. Look at the blue molecule in the figure: When it travels along a path of length L it will collide with all molecules with centre confined in a cylinder of diameter 2d and length L.
If the density of molecules is n, the number of molecules in this cylinder is N= n*d^2*pi*L, there are N collisions along L length: the distance traveled between two subsequent collision is

[tex] \lambda = \frac{L}{N}= \frac{1}{d^2\pi n}[/tex]

You know the number of the molecules in a known volume, so you can determine n.

ehild

Last edited: