1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Measure 3 Phase current

1. Jan 20, 2010 #1
    Hi, I have a question.
    Suppose I have a motor that runs on 3 phase power. If I only wanted to find out the total amount of current that the motor draws, how would I go about doing that?

Would I just use a clamp meter to get the amount of current going through each phase and then add them up to get the total current that the motor draws?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 20, 2010 #2

MATLABdude

Science Advisor

Welcome to PhysicsForums!

Unfortunately, I'm not a power engineer and the last time I encountered these sorts of problems were in second year, nearly a decade ago. That said, you'll notice that the voltage (and hence current) waveforms are all 120 degrees out of phase:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3_phase

Your clamp meter (usually) gives you an RMS value for current (though you can also get ones that give you the max and min), or, the equivalent DC current that would be have to flow to give the same power. With this in mind, you can add up the RMS currents per phase to determine total current consumption (what the power company would charge you).

EDIT: Hopefully, your currents per phase are fairly close, otherwise your motor (or the load) may be unbalanced!

4. Jan 22, 2010 #3
    If everything is balanced, all three legs should show the same amount of current (albeit, at different angles). In practice, this is not the case, so I usually just consider the highest current reading.

5. Jan 29, 2010 #4