Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Measurements problem - QED

1. Aug 10, 2007 #1
    I recently watched a program called 'Atom' on bbc4 that said something along the lines of: "If you want to strike fear into the eyes a physicist; mention the measurement problem" - What is the measurement problem and why is it such a problem?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 10, 2007 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I must not be a physicist then, because the "measurement problem(?)" strikes no fear in my eyes - and I'm an experimentalist too and I measure things for a living!

Zz.

4. Aug 10, 2007 #3
    BBC4 is, of course, exaggerating. What is known as "the measurement problem in quantum physics" is a certain set of open interpretational and philosophical questions regarding the relation between micro- ("quantum") and macro ("clasical") levels of physical theories. It should noted that these open questions do not signal any flaw or inconsistency of modern physical theories, including quantum mechanics.

5. Aug 10, 2007 #4

Demystifier

Science Advisor

There are two kinds of physicists: practical ones and those who want to understand nature on the deepest possible level.
    The measurement problem "strikes fear into the eyes" only for the latter.

What that problem actually is? Perhaps not everyone will agree, but I would summarize the problem by the following questions:
    Do physical observables have some values even when we do not measure them?
    If no, then how exactly measurement makes them?
    If yes, then how exactly measurement changes them?

Last edited: Aug 10, 2007
  6. Aug 10, 2007 #5
    But why fear? I would say "fascination and excitement". Many students of quantum mechanics (including me) get "hooked" precisely by the contraintuitive nature of QM and the sense that it never completely fits into your mind.