Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Measuring Distance

1. Mar 23, 2007 #1
    I am currently studying the Hubble Constant as part of my high school physics course. I'm aware that inaccuracies in determining this constant are largely due to difficulties in measuring distance between galaxies. I really just wanted some information, or to be directed to some web sites that I can follow at my level as to how in fact distance is measured in this context. I have read a little bit about Cepheid Variables but I don't really follow the concept. Perhaps someone with more knowledge could enlighten me on how the data to determine this constant is obtained.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 23, 2007 #2
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hubble's_law

Scrolling down a bit, you´ll notice that the Hubble constant is part of a linear relationship between recession velocity (that is, the velocity that an object is moving away from Earth) and the distance to that object. There are various problems associated with measuring these distance.

Something you´ll probably get introduced to fairly early on is a problem astronomers had a while ago - when looking at distances close (in our part of the Universe anyway) to us - the recessional velocity of galaxies with respect to Earth is dominated by gravitational effects from other galaxies that are close by. In these instances (most notably in our effects is the Local Group of 36 galaxies, all of which are to an extent gravitationally bound) the galaxies are infact moving towards each other because the gravity is strong enough to overcome the velocity from Hubble´s law.

These velocities (due to gravitational, other effects) are known as, perhaps unsurprisingly as peculiar velocities.