Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mech hobbies/work suggestions?

1. Jun 23, 2009 #1
    Hi, I am a second-year civil engineering major and am very interested in changing to mechanical eng. My issue is that while I have an excellent grasp of math and physics so far, and feel as though I have an intuitive understanding of mechanical motion (i.e. I know how my car works, but not what most of the parts are called); I have very little mechanical experience. I would like to gain some real world experience with mechanics and whatnot to see if I have any hope of being a mechanical eng. Could anyone suggest any hobbies (I am considering robot building) or entry level work a woman would actually be hired for, that would increase my knowledge of applicable mechanics? Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 23, 2009 #2
    RC helicopters are a great hobby for any engineer. Cars are good to but they cost a lot of money to have one as a hobby. Robots are mostly oriented around digital logic/electromechanics and don't touch a whole lot on mechanical engineering. RC helis though will teach you the practical side of fluid mechanics, vibrations, kinetics/kinematics, materials, structures, and thermodynamics.

2371652289_ca268a88d9.jpg

4. Jun 23, 2009 #3
    When I was in college in the 1950s, I got all the mech engineering work/hobby I wanted keeping my '41 Buick running. Fortunately, there was a junkyard nearby with another '41 Buick.

5. Jun 23, 2009 #4

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

Only if you want to. I know plenty of people that fly RC helicopters and planes that can't even spell fluid mechanics let alone talk about it. However, you will never find a more beautiful combination of moving parts than those of a helicopter.