1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mechanical or civil (my case)

1. Jan 11, 2015 #1
    Hi everyone !

Iv read a lot of threads that brings up this subject . But couldnt find anyone that were in "my shoes"

Im a 24 year old guy who lives in Sweden and works as a carpenter ( 5 years experience )

Iv been studying math , physics and chemistry at evenings and nights for 2 years along side my fulltime job as an carpenter
    and now Im finally qualified to study engineer in collage,

WELL , Im having abit difficullty to choose between mechanical and civil engineer ( bachelor ).
    Im a carpenter and have experience and i guess that will help me if i study civil engineer and eventually help me get a job easier due to my background. But it feels like ur pretty much locked down into buildings and stuff and im not sure if i want that .

BUT mechanical is much more broad in fields to work with. U can work offshore ( thinking of norway) at oilriggs, manufacturing of cars , machines . well the list goes on. I dont know how a workday for a mechanical engineer looks like. Iv search alot and even tried youtube . Tried to download solidworks to get a hunt but the **** gave me a virus...

My Goals are to move to Australia and work as an engineer there. I cant stand the cold in Sweden...

Please help me make it easier to choose !

Best regards , Pierre

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 12, 2015 #2