1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mechanical Vibration Problem?

1. Mar 7, 2014 #1
    Hi, I'm currently studying Mechanical Eng & have a class next semester 'Eng Analysis', which involves a large section on vibration. I've been trying to work my way through S.S.Rao, Mech Vibrations, 2nd edition. There's one specific problem; Project 5.51/Chapter 5/page 292.
    The problem concerns; two step cone pulleys connected by a belt. All relevent variables are given i.e. input/output shaft rpm, driven puley rpms, distance between centres,polar moments of inertia etc.
    I understand that this is a 2 Degrees of Freedom problem, & I should draw a free body diagram ( 2 pulleys connected by 2 springs). It's theinitial 'Equations of Motion' that I can't derive, & without these I can't really start the problem. I've attached a screen shot containing a clear example of the problem.
    Any help thats offered would be greatfully received.

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 7, 2014 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

What does the textbook say about this kind of problem? What equations does the text use when describing this kind of problem?

4. Mar 7, 2014 #3

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

From the question:
    ??? Either I don't understand the question, or there is a typo somewhere. Those numbers don't seem to be consistent with each other.

5. Mar 8, 2014 #4
    Same problem, updated rpm's & diameters...

Hi, sorry here's the question with updated variables i.e. input shaft speed, output pulley speeds.