Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mechanics issue

1. Mar 14, 2008 #1
    As part of a local competition, i have to calculate the distance that a projectile launched at an angle from a certain height above the ground will travel. a friend and i have attempted to shorten the three necessary steps (ignoring air resistance) into a single step.
    v=rad(2gh), Dx=Vx*t, Dy=.5*a*t^2
    However being at our level of experience the algebra gets a bit hairy and doesnt seem to quite work out. Any help would be greatly appreciated. (also i am not certain that i have been clear in presenting my dilemma, so i will try to clarify if necessary since im not good at explaining things in words)

Thanks again!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 15, 2008 #2

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Do the rules of this competition allow you to receive external assistance?

4. Mar 15, 2008 #3

rcgldr

Homework Helper

You left out the initial velocity of the projectile when it is launched. Also, are you assuming a flat earth (not having to worry about sub-orbital paths (ellipses as opposed to parabolas), or the strength of gravity being less at higher altitudes)?

Last edited: Mar 15, 2008
  5. Mar 15, 2008 #4
    Do the rules of this competition allow you to receive external assistance?
    Yes. Its not a very serious competition, and this problem has become more of a quest than help with the competition. We can solve it with a different method, but are curious as to how this would work.

You left out the initial velocity of the projectile when it is launched. Also, are you assuming a flat earth (not having to worry about sub-orbital paths (ellipses as opposed to parabolas), or the strength of gravity being less at higher altitudes)?