1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

MechE to math or physics

1. Aug 18, 2009 #1
    hiya guys,

i'm a first year mechE student. I have a strong interest in theoretical physics, especially mathematical physics, and pure math as well. by the end of four years of mechE i will have done calc 1,2,3, diff. eqs, numerical analysis. thts all the math we will be doing. now i was wondering if it would be possible for me to go to grad school in either of those fields.please tell me my options. like if i take some upper-level math courses at some uni and then apply?? or get a gud grade in gre of either of those two subjects?? or do u think it would still be impossible. ne and all help is appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 18, 2009 #2
    Just a quick question, why are you majoring in ME if you plan to pursue physics and/or math?

What is the required physics for ME at you school? At mine, only the first year physics sequence is required for ME majors.

4. Aug 18, 2009 #3
    In order to go to grad school in math or physics, the subject GRE's are important, but with a mechE degree you may have a hard time to prepare for them. This will pose a strong limitation to your application.

If you really want to pursue grad school in math or physics, your best option would be to major in that subject as an undergraduate. In other words, change your major.

The curriculum differences between mechE and physics are very significant. However, it would be relatively natural to go into physics in graduate school, provided you took a few important physics courses as an undergraduate. I would say 2-4 physics courses (beyond your ordinary requirements) would be all that you need.