1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Medical Physics saturated?

1. Jan 26, 2012 #1
    I am considering a career in Medical Physics. I have a PhD in physics and am planning on entering either the CAMPEP accredited certificate program at University of Chicago or one in Canada. What worries me is that I have heard many conflicting viewpoints on the current state of Medical Physics. I have heard that it is extremely competitive to get into a CAMPEP accredited residency and even more competitive to find a job after completing the residency.

I am currently employed a a national lab, so making the career change would also require me to say goodbye to a salary and just hope that I will be able to land a residency in 2013. I recognize that jobs are hard to come by in nearly all fields right now, but I was just wondering about the state of Medical Physics. It seems like more and more people are going into that career field, so I don't want to be one of the people who were too late and be in a field that suffers from a lack of demand due to an oversupply of Physicists.

Any insight will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 26, 2012 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor