1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Metal for capacitor

1. Sep 8, 2009 #1
    I am building a simple capacitor for experimentation and i have a question, or two.

At the moment i am using 30cm x 30cm (1 sqft) aluminum plates with a minuscule gap in between them as a capacitor. At the moment, even at the 200micro amp setting on my ammeter I get a very low reading (about 1). What other readily available metals could i potentially use to get a reading of about the same or higher than what i am getting with the aluminum. i want to keep the setup the same, but just change the conductor.

thanks guys

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2009 #2
    sorry, i forgot to mention that I am no expert, so simple answers would be much appreciated

4. Sep 8, 2009 #3

Born2bwire

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Are you reading DC or AC current? You could use any good conductor which most metals will qualify for, copper, iron, aluminum...

5. Sep 8, 2009 #4
    To make a capacitor out of two 30 cm by 30 cm aluminum plates, put 1 sheet of wax paper, 32 cm by 32 cm, between them, and clamp them together with 1 cm of wax paper hanging out on all four sides.. Make sure the aluminum plates are clean and smooth beforehand.

6. Sep 9, 2009 #5
    thanks so far guys.

I'll try using the wax paper. Would the clear film paper used for projections work as well?

I have another question: how much affect would humidity have on the results? I'm asking because the capacitor never seems to work in the morning when it is more humid, but works fine (albeit barely) in the afternoon when the air is drier.

thanks once again

7. Sep 9, 2009 #6
    Sorry, Born2wire, i forgot to answer your question.