Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Metric tensor definition

1. Jun 5, 2009 #1
    Hi All,

let me preface I am an engineer, in classical terms, a trivial techician.

Still I am putting some effort in improving my tensorial calculus.

I am struggling with the definition of a metric tensor, as found for example in

[PLAIN]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metric_tensor[/URL] [Broken]

in particular I am not grasping how the length of the curve is expressed, as I obtain a different expression. I have posted my line of thought in the attached file, as I do not know how to use mathematical notation within the post.

Your help would be the most appreciated, as I am relaly looking forward to understanding where the mistake is.

Have a nice weekend

Muzialis

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 5, 2009 #2
    The final question in your document: yes, that is the definition of r_u.

Your expression for the length of the arc is missing a square root. Furthermore, you should throw all terms under one integral. I haven't checked to see if what you have matches the wiki though...

P.S. the math used here on the forum is build using Latex. You might want to check into it - it's quite funky ;)

4. Jun 6, 2009 #3

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I don't know why you get three identical terms in your integral, but the fact that the derivatives of y don't appear anywhere in your expression should give you a hint about what your mistake was.