Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Michelle Wie Disqualified in 1st Tournament

  1. Oct 17, 2005 #1

    russ_watters

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

    http://www.usatoday.com/sports/golf/lpga/2005-10-16-wie_x.htm

    I think that's a pretty rediculous rule. In most sports, once the next play starts, whatever happened in the previous is no longer questionable (imagine if referees reviewed and overturned a touchdown from the first half of a football game after watching the replay over halftime!). In golf, you sign your scorecard after every round, but rulings can be reviewed all the way up until the end of the tournament. So the scorecard was correct when she signed it, but the rules infraction was added the next day, making the card incorrect, and causing the automatic disqualificaiton for signing an incorrect scorecard.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2005
  2. jcsd
Know someone interested in this topic? Share this thread via Reddit, Google+, Twitter, or Facebook

Can you help with the solution or looking for help too?
Draft saved Draft deleted



Similar Discussions: Michelle Wie Disqualified in 1st Tournament
  1. PF Chess Tournament (Replies: 32)

  2. Chess tournament (Replies: 10)

  3. Upcoming Euro tournament (Replies: 137)

Loading...