Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Minimization with cos

1. Mar 12, 2015 #1
    I'm trying to find a function for x in [0, L] that minimizes this:

[tex] \int_0^{L} A \phi(x) \frac{ d \phi(x) }{dx} + B cos(\phi(x))\ d\mbox{x} [/tex]

For real (given) positve numbers A and B.

with
    [itex] \phi(0) = 0 [/itex]
    [itex] \phi(x) [/itex] is an increasing positve function.

Can somebody point me in the right direction?

Last edited: Mar 12, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 12, 2015 #2

jfizzix

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Sounds like a calculus of variations problem.

I'm no expert, but the principal thing to do would be to find the Euler-Lagrange equation for [itex]\phi(x)[/itex]. The solution (or solutions) to that equation will be the function which minimizes that integral.

I don't exactly know how to do this, but if you look at the Wikipedia article on the calculus of variations, and go down to the section on the Euler-Lagrange equation, you should find some useful tips there.

4. Mar 12, 2015 #3
    Yes I get the zero function then but that is not what I am looking for.

5. Mar 12, 2015 #4

jfizzix

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

the Euler-Lagrange equation only has zero as a solution?

6. Mar 12, 2015 #5
    Yes I get the zero function then but that is not what I am looking for.

[tex] \frac { \partial L } { \partial \phi } = A \frac{d \phi}{dx} -C sin ( \phi(x)) [/tex]

[tex] \frac{d}{dx } \left( \frac { \partial L } { \partial \phi' } \right) = A \frac{d \phi}{dx} [/tex]

[tex] \frac { \partial L } { \partial \phi } - \frac{d}{dx } \left( \frac { \partial L } { \partial \phi' } \right) = C sin ( \phi(x)) = 0 [/tex]

7. Mar 12, 2015 #6

jfizzix

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

well that sure is interesting...

How do you know that the zero function isn't actually the solution you're looking for?

8. Mar 12, 2015 #7

jfizzix

Science Advisor