MIPS programming - store a list of numbers

• Thread starter ACLerok
  • Start date
Hi, I am a completely newb to the MIPS assembly language and i'm having a bit of trouble with this one procedure. Basically, i wanna have the user enter in a list of numbers. The user can keep entering in numbers but when -999 is entered, the user cannot enter in anymore numbers. This list of numbres is saved and then printed out in the orderthey were entered. I'm having trouble figuring out how to implement this. Can anyone help me out or have some code to put me in the right direction? Thank you in advance.

Hi, I am a completely newb to the MIPS assembly language and i'm having a bit of trouble with this one procedure. Basically, i wanna have the user enter in a list of numbers. The user can keep entering in numbers but when -999 is entered, the user cannot enter in anymore numbers. This list of numbres is saved and then printed out in the orderthey were entered. I'm having trouble figuring out how to implement this. Can anyone help me out or have some code to put me in the right direction? Thank you in advance.
This is an interesting question, if only because an unknown of input numbers have to be stored. Because how many numbers are to be entered isn't known, you can't just set aside a fixed amount of memory in the user data segment. Pushing the numbers onto the stack would be a possibility, but when you popped them off the stack, the numbers would be in the reverse order.

The only remaining technique that I can think of would be a linked list on the heap, with each node containing one input number and the address of the next node. After getting the first input value, save its address for later use, and then keep filling nodes with the input values and the value returned by the sbrk system service, which allocates memory from the heap.

I'll try to flesh this out in a later post.

berkeman

Mentor