Misner, Thorne, and Wheeler: Exercise 5.1 (stress-energy tensor symmetry)

• A
  • Thread starter Mike Karr
  • Start date
Mike Karr
TL;DR Summary
It seems that the stress-energy tensor is both symmetric and non-symmetric.
I am a beginner in GR, working my through Gravitation by the above authors. If there is a better place to ask this question, please let me know.

I understand (from section 5.7) that the stress-energy tensor is symmetric, and from equation 5.23 (p. 141), it is explicitly symmetric. But evaluating equation 5.22 in a Lorentz coordinate frame, the last term is clearly symmetric, but the first term involves ##F^{\nu}_{\alpha}##, which is non-symmetric, at least according to equation 5.3 (p. 73). In particular, it is symmetric in the 0th column and row and anti-symmetric in the rest of the matrix. Multiplied by the anti-symmetric ##F^{\mu\alpha}## does not help the situation. So I can't get from 5.22 to 5.23.

I suppose my problem is understanding "in a Lorentz frame", but I thought all definitions of F and ##\nu## *are* in a Lorentz frame. Where am I going wrong?

Last edited by a moderator:

Answers and Replies

ergospherical
The first term is symmetric for the simple reason that ##S^{\mu \nu} \equiv F^{\mu \alpha} {F^{\nu}}_{\alpha} = {F^{\mu}}_{\alpha} F^{\nu \alpha} = F^{\nu \alpha}{F^{\mu}}_{\alpha} = S^{\nu \mu}##.

Orodruin
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Gold Member
Summary:: It seems that the stress-energy tensor is both symmetric and non-symmetric.

Multiplied by the anti-symmetric $F^{\mu\alpha}$ does not help the situation.
As @ergospherical showed, yes it does. The index ##\alpha## is not a free index and you therefore cannot consider if the expression is symmetric under exchange ##\mu \leftrightarrow \alpha## because doing so does not make any sense.

Mike Karr