Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mixed feelings about grassroots efforts

  1. Sep 29, 2005 #1
    I have mixed feelings about grassroots efforts and maybe we'll get into that. But, one thing I like about MoveOn is that they keep you updated after they have asked for your action. Regarding Tom Delay, here is how they have connected the dots for the work they have been doing regarding his behavior, over the last year or so.

    (I don't think it was copyrighted either. But I'm happy to scale it back. I am not sure if Evo was talking to me or Astronuc.))
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 30, 2005 #2

    Astronuc

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

  4. Sep 30, 2005 #3

    russ_watters

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

    I'm not sure I would characterize a PAC as "grassroots".
     
  5. Sep 30, 2005 #4

    Astronuc

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

    I don't believe I did, and I am not Patty did either.

    As for the links I posted -

    http://www.usconstitution.org/do/Associates

    33rd Precinct Community Council http://www.33pctcouncil.org
    African Soul International http://www.africansoulinternational.org
    ALERT Partnership http://www.alertpartnership.org
    Association for Better Living http://www.associationforbetterliving.org
    Atlanta Fulton Family Connection http://www.affconnection.org
    Austin Advocate http://www.austinadvocate.org
    Befrienders, Inc. http://www.befriendersinc.org
    Blue Dragons Organization http://www.www.blue-dragons- co.org
    Boston Asthma Initiative http://www.bostonasthma.org
    Boston Self Help Center http://www.bostonselfhelp.org
    Bringing IT and Spreading Hope http://www.bitash.org
    Bronx Breathes http://www.bronxbreathes.org
    Brunswick Historical Society http://www.brunswickhistory.org
    Butterfly Hope http://www.butterflyhope.org
    ByteBack Classes http://www.bytebackclasses.net
    Cafe Phoenix (RAMS, Inc.) http://www.cafephoenix.org
    Carrollton Ridge Community http://www.carrolltonridge.org
    Catharsis Foundation http://www.catharsisfoundation.org
    Central Delta Depot Museum http://www.cddm.org
    Central Tibetan Relief Committee http://www.tibetrelief.org
    Child Protection Project http://www.childpro.org
    Cincinnati Housing Partners http://www.cincinnati-housing- partners.org
    CityDance Theatre http://www.lccitydance.org
    Clark Champaign Diabetes Association, Inc. http://www.ccdainc.org
    Communities in Schools of the Laurel Highlands, Inc. http://www.cislh.org
    Community Connections for Youth http://www.ccywoodstock.org
    Community Development Corporations Association of Greater Cincinnati http://www.cdcagc.org
    Community Soup Kitchen http://www.csknh.org
    Decatur County Family YMCA http://www.decaturcountyfamilyymca.org
    Dialogue-Producing Consortium http://www.dialoguemakers.org
    Diamonds in the Ruff Children’s Society http://www.diamondsintheruff.info
    The Don't Stand Alone Foundation For Children With Autism http://www.dontstandalone.org
    Duluth Youth Agency Coalition http://www.dyacduluth.org
    EarthCare.org http://www.earthcare.org
    Earthnet Institute http://www.eni.edu
    Echo House http://www.echohouse.org
    Empowerment Institute, Inc. http://www.empoweri.org
    Exchange for Change http://www.www.coffeeexchange.org
    Fayetteville Area Habitat for Humanity http://www.fayhabitat.org
    First 5 Tehama http://www.first5tehama.org
    First Nations Outreach Project http://www.firstnationsoutreach.org
    First Steps http://www.firststeps4teens.org
    Fishing Mentors http://www.fishingmentors.org
    Florida College Activist Coalition http://www.floridacollegeactivist.org
    Free Clinics of Michigan http://www.freeclinicsofmi.org
    Friendly Village D.A.R.E. http://www.friendlyvillageonline.org
    Friends to the Elderly Youth and Family Center Inc. http://www.friendsbuffalo.org
    Fusion Partnerships http://www.fusiongroup.org
    Gabrielle Reilly Weekly http://www.gabriellereillyweekly.com
    Generation Xcellence http://www.genxcell.org
    Get Help-Give Help http://www.gethelp- givehelp.org
    Global Neuroscience Initiative Foundation http://www.gnif.org
    Global Perspective http://www.global- perspective.net
    Grand Futures Prevention Coalition http://www.grandfutures.org
    GRCN Connecting Communities http://www.grcnconnects.org
    Greater Baton Rouge Clean Cities Coalition http://www.gbrccc.org
    Groundwork Bridgeport http://www.groundworkbpt.org
    Groundwork Minneapolis http://www.groundworkminneapolis.org
    Guillaume Center, Inc. http://www.guillaumecenter.com
    Habitat For Humanity of Wicomico County http://www.wicomicocountyhabitat.org
    Harrisburg Literacy http://www.harrisburgliteracy.org
    Hope Academic Enrichment Center http://www.haeconline.org
    Interfaith Hospitality Network http://www.IHNToledo.org
    Jersey County Homemakers Education Association http://www.jerseycountyhea.org
    Junior League Palm Springs Desert Communities http://www.jlpsdc.org
    Kamp Kessa http://www.kampkessa.org
    Kansas CURE http://www.kscure.org
    Life Crisis Center http://www.lifecrisiscenter.org
    Looking for My Sister http://www.lookingformysister.org
    Love Work Seeking Outreach http://www.lwsoutreach.org
    Lower Richland Ruritan Club http://www.lrruritan.org
    Mentor/Role Model Program http://www.mentor1.org
    Mountain Home Christian Clinic http://www.mountainhomechristianclinic.org
    Multicultural Self-Esteem Academy http://www.mseayouth.org
    My Duluth http://www.myduluth.org
    Narayan Ashram http://www.nilausa.org
    National Independent Living Association http://www.narayanashram.org
    The Neighborhood Network http://www.theneighborhoodnetwork.org
    Neighbors Against Drug Abuse http://www.n-a-d-a.org
    New Works Writers Series http://www.newworkswritersseries.org
    Next Wave http://www.geronextwave.org
    North Shore Housing Trust, Inc. http://www.nshousingtrust.org
    Noticia Publica http://www.noticiapublica.org
    Nzaasa African Renaissance Group http://www.nzaasa.org
    Ohio Community Computing Network http://www.ohioccn.org
    Oklahoma Academy of Mediators and Arbitrators http://www.oama.org
    Open Inn, Inc. http://www.projectsafeplaceaz.org
    P.A.L.S. 4 Paws http://www.pals4paws.net
    Parents Helping Parents http://www.parentshelping.org
    Parents of Special Children, Inc. http://www.pscoswego.org
    Pathfinder Search and Rescue http://www.pathfindersar.org
    Pennsylvania Sinfonia Orchestra http://www.pasinfonia.org
    Phoenix Indian Center, Inc. http://www.phxlearningcircle.org
    Point Man International Ministries http://www.pointmanmuncie.org
    Portage County Housing Services Council http://www.portagehousingcouncil.org
    Quail Roost Foundation http://www.quailroostfoundation.org
    Quality Consortium of Suffolk County http://www.qualityconsortium.org
    Quality of Life Service Center http://www.qualityoflifeservicecenter.com
    Quilters' Guild of Arlington http://www.qgoa.org
    Raising Our Youth http://www.raisingouryouth.org
    Reach for the Light, Inc. http://www.reachforthelight.com
    Ride Advocacy Project http://www.rubyeskids.org
    Renee Olubunmi Rondeau Peace Foundation http://www.rorpf.org
    Roses and Rosemary http://www.rosesandrosemary.org
    Rubye's Kids http://www.rubyeskids.org
    Rural Hospital Relief Fund http://www.ruralhospitalrelief.org
    Saginaw County Youth Protection Council http://www.scypc.org
    Salisbury Wicomico Arts Council http://www.543arts.com
    Santa Maria Valley Policy Panel http://www.santamariapolicypanel.org
    Save Akron Schools http://www.saveakronschools.org
    SeaKay http://www.seakay.org
    Second Chance Support Services http://www.secondchance233.org
    Serendipity Educational Resources, Inc http://www.seraz.org
    SJ Ferret Rescue and Sanctuary http://www.sjferret.com
    Somali American Community Association, Inc. http://www.sacausa.org
    The South Suburban Council on Alcoholism and Substance Abuse http://www.sscouncil.org
    Speak With Us http://www.speakwithus.org>
    Student-Employee Assistance Program Against Chemical Dependency www.sapeap.org
    Students for Bhopal http://www.studentsforbhopal.org
    Summit County Historical Society http://www.summithistory.org
    TLC Preschool http://www.tlclasalle.org
    Twin Lakes Playhouse http://www.twinlakesplayhouse.org
    Union des Français de l'Etranger http://www.ufealberta.org
    United Playaz http://www.unitedplayaz.org
    United Support & Memorial For Workplace Fatalities http://www.usmwf.org
    United Way of Volusia-Flagler Counties http://www.volusiacitizencorps.org
    Universal Triumvirate Group http://www.UTGroup.org
    Upper Room Cultural Development Corp. (URCDC) http://www.urcdc.net
    V-Day Tucson 2005 http://www.vdaytucson.org
    Victory Over Addiction International, Inc. http://www.voai.org
    Volusia County Citizen Corps http://www.volusiacitizencorps.org
    The Welcome Ministry http://www.welcomeministry.org
    Woodland Middle School - After School Adventures http://www.myduluth.org
    Youth Action Project, Inc. http://www.youthactionproject.org
    YWCA Youth of Texarkana http://www.ywca-txk.org
     
  6. Sep 30, 2005 #5
    My bad. They regularly talk about "grassroot organisation." And, surely mobilising everyday stay at home moms, concerned students, other "normal" citizens etc - ("2400 volunteers.... 470,000 signatures" etc) qualifies as something akin to grassroots?

    PAC has a pejorative feel to it. It's gotten a lot of bad press. They sign off as a Political Action Team, and they are a PAC, AFAIK, so I'll try to find a more appropriate term that i am more comfortable with. I have difficulty using the term PAC because of the bad press that some of these have (rightly) gotten.

    Edit:

    If you google Moveon Grassroots you get 349,000 hits. Adding quotes, you still get 194 hits.

    MoveOn PAC gets you 277,000 hits. Adding quotes gets you 117,000 hits.

    It seems that the general sense is that both characterizations are used, and the PAC may be more correct.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2005
  7. Sep 30, 2005 #6

    russ_watters

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

    Sorry, that was meant for patty - MoveOn.org is (has) a pac.
    "PAC" is the legal characterization of the organization and MoveOn has different parts for different legal purposes. The part of the organization that pays for tv commercials is the pac.

    edit: Not being real clear on what exactly a PAC is, I googled....
    http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/political_action_committees.htm

    I'm not a big fan of PACs. In fairness, I acknowledge that that could be because PACs tend to benefit Democrats more than Republicans, but it is also largely because their contributions are negative: they mostly focus on attacking opposition candidates (and MoveOn.org is one of the worst of the Michael Moore-ish breed of PACs). Also, the relationship between non-profit part and the pac part of organizations smells funny to me. However, the other side of the coin is that corporate donations tend to favor Republicans and I'm in favor of restricting them as well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2005
  8. Sep 30, 2005 #7

    Astronuc

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

    I am not in favor of PAC's either, because some eventually expects something for an investment (bribe).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Political_action_committee

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_political_action_committees (not complete)

    Perhaps this is a better site - http://www.opensecrets.org/ = http://www.crp.org/ which is:

    I seem to remember Republican PAC's from about the time of Reagan, and the Democrats had to play catch-up.

    Take a look at GOP.com :rofl: affiliated with the Republican National Committee - one can 'invest' in the government. I am sure the DNC has something comparable.

    I get solicitations from both parties - to buy tables at dinners for $25,000 or in the case of Bush and Cheney, I can have dinner with them for the right price. :rofl: Not that I would want to. Got the same nonsense from the Clinton, Gore, Kerry and the DNC. :rolleyes:

    Also, checkout - A HISTORY OF FAVORS
    http://www.ccsi.com/~comcause/news/cc_7.html

    and

    BUSH'S "TEAM 100": A NEW ERA OF FAT-CAT INFLUENCE IN WASHINGTON

    The Dubya Report - http://www.thedubyareport.com/money.html - The Money Trail

    I would really like the politicians and candidates to address substantive issues, and at the very least, spend no more than the tax revenues - which means they have to pay of the national debt. :grumpy:
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2005
  9. Sep 30, 2005 #8

    Evo

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

    To avoid copyright violation, please do not post the entire article, only a paragraph or two at most are allowable, members can follow the link to read the rest.
     
  10. Sep 30, 2005 #9

    Astronuc

    User Avatar

    Staff: Mentor

    Thanks, Evo. It's not clear that article is copyrighted.

    I added the link in the title to the site where the article is posted in entirety.

    Common Causes, which apparently published the article initially is at -

    http://www.commoncause.org/site/pp.asp?c=dkLNK1MQIwG&b=186966

    where one will find - Eruption of Corruption in Washington (Sep 28)

    Senate Ethics Committee Must Investigate Frist's Stock Transaction (Sep 27)
    and elsewhere - http://www.ccsi.com/~comcause/news/bushsr.html
    "A 1992 Common Cause Magazine Investigation Reveals A Pattern Of Special Favors For Former President Bush's Inner Circle Of $100,000 Donors."
     
Know someone interested in this topic? Share this thread via Reddit, Google+, Twitter, or Facebook

Have something to add?



Similar Discussions: Mixed feelings about grassroots efforts
Loading...