Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mod. arithmetic in mathematica

1. Jun 10, 2006 #1
    Hello,
    I'm not very experienced with mathematica, and I have some problems in making an equation like this,
    Find x such that 11x = 1 (mod 360) and x < 360.
    Any ideas on how to input this into mathematica?
    Thanks,

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 10, 2006 #2
    or at least tell me how to find x?

4. Jun 10, 2006 #3
    actually x equals 131. It took me quite a few minutes to brute force it though (trial and error). I'm working out a formula now.

5. Jun 10, 2006 #4

Hurkyl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

AFAIK, you have to do the solving yourself. :frown: But at least you can still get Mathematica to do the computation...

The whole problem boils down to finding the modular inverse of 11, modulo 360. That is, the number a such that 11a = 1 (mod 360).

Mathematica might have a modular inverse function.

If not, the normal way to compute modular inverses is through the extended Euclidean algorithm for GCD's... Mathematica ought to have that!

This algorithm gives you the numbers u and v such that 11u + 360v = 1, so u is easily seen to be the inverse of 11 modulo 360. (Of course, this only works because GCD(11, 360) = 1)

If Mathematica doesn't have that, I think the easiest solution is to write a function that implements the extended Eucllidean algorithm. :smile:

But if you really don't want to, you could still manage something with modular exponentiation, since:

11^EulerPhi[360] = 1 (mod 360)

so you can spend a little bit of time figuring out the possibilities for things which 11a = 1 (mod 360).

(the Carmichael lambda function is better to use than the EulerPhi function, but I don't know if Mathematica has that)

6. Jun 10, 2006 #5