Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Modal analysis of gunshot

1. May 22, 2009 #1
    I am not a weapons designer, this is purely to satisfy my own curiosity :)

I would like to simulate a gun shot in a rifle barrel and determine the mode and freq. of vibration using a FE program (Code_Aster if anyone is interested), but I don't really know what transient load to apply.

What components go into making the barrel vibrate? Shape of course, boundry cond. i.e. barrel to receiver connection etc. - but how would you describe the discharge of a round?

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. May 26, 2009 #2

minger

Science Advisor

Ah, I JUST ran through a similar tutorial of this for the new version of ANSYS. Anyways, I'm going to assume that you are trying to model some sort of automatic gun that can cycle enough times such that resonance could come into play.

Regardless, here's what you kind of do. You'll need to do a full fluid-structure interaction problem. You'll have to either use a combusion model, or a source term to model the bullet (it'll be MUCH MUCH easier than actually modeling the bullet). From there, you do a multiphysics run where you're sending pressures, temperatures, and forces to the structural analysis and getting back displacements and temperatures.

From this, you can do a pre-stressed modal analysis and obtain natural frequencies and modes. At this point you can determine which modes may be of interest. You have a definite applied force, so you can then know which modes need to be payed attention to.

4. May 26, 2009 #3

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

How do you describe the discharge? I would venture a guess that it's probably broadband noise. I can't imagine there being any kind of dominating components to the signal.

5. May 26, 2009 #4

minger

Science Advisor