Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Model Water Rockets Design

1. May 18, 2006 #1
    Hello friends,
    I am just a begginer of model rocketary. I just felt it is better to start with water rockets since i cant get much of the rocketary kits in the place i am living with.
    I know it is not such big topic to be discussed under a engineering thread, but still as an amateur i will engineer this small project first.
    I knew the basic physics behind rocket propulsion so i beleive can manage.
    Any suggestion or links to follow,
  2. jcsd
  3. May 18, 2006 #2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

An interesting point to look at is the ratio of air to water to use! Should keep you busy and teach you something.
  4. May 18, 2006 #3
    i have got the idea of model but finding har to get fitting the launcher sine it needs a lot of fix ups.
    any easy immediate to try methods, so it will get me more interesting
  5. May 18, 2006 #4

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Depends on what level you want to build the thing at. We used to use a simple riveted aluminium frame, with a little turned steel air adaptor which fitted into the neck of the rocket, and a cable operated (release pin) three-arm sprung release mechanism.

How good a rocket do you want to make, and what resources do you have?
  6. May 18, 2006 #5
    You could fabricate a Water Rocket from Carbon Tubing, You may be able to Fabricate a Fiber Glass Nose Cone, The Jet Nozzle can be Fabricated from Heavy duty PVC Fittings. If you could get the PSI up to 120 then a 6 foot Water Rocket would leave your site when it took off.

Warning!!! You may not find it!

Test the Maximum PSI rating first.

We use to build these out of Pepsi 2 Liter Bottles, They were quite fun!

I have a lot of experience building them from odds and ends.

You could build one out of pure PVC Pipe Material but what fun is that.