1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Moment Of Inertia Help

1. Sep 15, 2007 #1
    Moment Of Inertia Help!!

people ,
    i'm a student , and this is a complicated problem i came across ! please noe that i know da simplest of integration and differentiation and the like .

it might sound stupid , but can anyone tell why , during the calculation of moment of inertia of a ring the limits during integration are taken as R and 0 , instead of R and -R as in other cases like sphere and rod etc.

i noe a bit of calculus just to do about these things only .

please help !!!

got a hard exam !!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 15, 2007 #2

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Eeh?
    What is R meant to be?
    A radius?
    An angle?
    The length of a straight line segment?

And:
    What type of ring are you talking about?
    A 2-D ring with finite or infinitesemal thickness?
    Or something else entirely?

4. Sep 15, 2007 #3
    R is supposed to be the radius , and yes da figure is 2d . the answer is supposed 2 be 0.5 M(R^2) .

5. Sep 15, 2007 #4

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Well, is it a RING or a DISK you are trying to find the moment of inertia to?

The disk has no hole in the middle, but a ring does.
    Furthermore, if it IS a ring, is the thickness of it negligible, or is it an annulus?

6. Sep 15, 2007 #5
    Man , it is a ring , and the thickness is negligible . Now please help!!

7. Sep 15, 2007 #6

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

So:
    There is a big hole in the middle?

In that case, the given answer is just wrong.

Are you sure it is not a compact disc?

8. Sep 15, 2007 #7