Monochromatic Light: Definition & Examples

• Thread starter JJBladester
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Light
In summary, the concept of monochromatic light has different definitions, with some sources stating it as light of one frequency and others stating it as light of one wavelength. In reality, every frequency only has one corresponding wavelength and vice versa. While there are ways to create light that is close to monochromatic in a lab setting using lasers and filters, there will always be a spread in the range of wavelengths due to natural limitations such as impurities and the uncertainty principle. Therefore, a true monochromatic wave does not exist in the physical world and is only a mathematical concept.
JJBladester
Gold Member
I'm doing work with a spectrometer and Hydrogen and Helium gas discharge tubes. Right now I'm studying the Balmer series for Hydrogen emission.

Anyway, I'm trying to see what the "real" definition of monochromatic light is. Some references state it's light of one frequency while other references state that it's light of one wavelength? Which is it?

If I look at a Hydrogen gas discharge tub, it looks "monochromatic" but when viewed through a spectrometer / diffraction grating, spectral lines at multiple wavelengths can be seen.

How is monochromatic light made? Any examples of it in the physical world aside from in a lab?

Science news on Phys.org
'Mono' = one; 'chroma' = color.
How many wavelengths do you have for a single frequency of light?

How does something 'look' monochromatic? If it has lines at multiple wavelengths, is it monochromatic?

Real world example: LEDs and Lasers (although neither---especially lasers---are perfectly monochromatic, they have some spread/uncertainty).

Monochromatic wave = single frequency.

In the nature there is no monochromatic waves because emission of a light occurs at a defined fraction of time.