Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Monte Carlo Simulation

1. Nov 4, 2012 #1
    Hi all! I started learning about Monte Carlo Simulation. However, one thing that I don't quite get is that why for generating any random variable, we have to first generate a Uniform RV? What is the reason behind that?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 4, 2012 #2

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Because that's what we know how to create. Kind of. Those random number generators are more appropriately called pseudo random number generators.

4. Nov 4, 2012 #3
    The idea is that the computer can only simulate random number generation, so we can't just tell it "go generate numbers according to a beta distribution". What we can do is simulate numbers a verify fairly easily that they roughly correspond to a uniform distribution, and then apply suitable conditions/transformations to make them follow other distribution. This actually turns out to be fairly difficult beyond the standard distributions; if you ever study Bayesian statistics, you'll learn some fairly complex methods that are required to simulate certain prior distributions (e.g. Metropolis-Hastings).

5. Nov 4, 2012 #4
    Hi, NumberNine. Yea from what I learned so far, the first step is always to generate uniform RVs first, then do some transformation to make it to follow the distribution that we want. So we use uniform RV because it is very simple? as opposed to pick exponential RV first? So it is just the way it is?

6. Nov 5, 2012 #5
    Hi, NumberNine. Yea from what I learned so far, the first step is always to generate uniform RVs first, then do some transformation to make it to follow the distribution that we want. So we use uniform RV because it is very simple? as opposed to pick exponential RV first? So it is just the way it is?

7. Nov 5, 2012 #6

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor