Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Moon landing question?

1. Nov 11, 2015 #1

Gaz

I have a question about the moon landing . Wouldn't the solar winds kill any astronaut in space?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 11, 2015 #2

Geofleur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'm no expert, but I think that even in space they are protected by Earth's magnetic field to some extent. But they do get pelted with various particles (mostly electrons, protons, and alpha particles). For example, I remember reading that an astronaut will see periodic flashes of light when a particle strikes her optic nerve!

I imagine that the walls of the spaceship would also offer some protection.

4. Nov 11, 2015 #3

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Uh ... do you not believe that we have put astronauts in space (and landed some on the moon) and brought them home safely? If you DO believe that has happened, then your question should not be "would this not happen?" but rather "clearly this doesn't happen, but how can it not?".

This may sound like silly semantics to you but my point is that in any kind of scientific inquiry, it is important to phrase questions properly lest you build in a bias towards a particular answer.

5. Nov 11, 2015 #4

Gaz

My question is simply a what about question. I neither believe nor dis-believe the moon landings I would like to believe there true but I ask because I am having a hard time believing the Van Allen belts would be much of a problem to a astronaut being that the particles in the belt would already be caught and slowed by the earths magnetic field where as the solar wind would be like the Van Allen belt on steroids or a solar system size particle accelerator. It seams to me the solar winds should be the main problem for astronauts so any info or thoughts about this is awsome =)