Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Motorcycle on a turntable

1. Jan 20, 2006 #1
    Hi: New to this forum and have a quick question. Hope I'm posting in the right area.

First of all, I'm not an engineer, nor do I pretend to be one but I'm having to settle an arguement between two people who think they are.

There is a ten foot diameter turntable constructed of a 2" steel frame and a 1 1/2" plywood top. On top of the turntable sits an 1100lb motorcycle. The table turns atop 12 casters rated at 600lb each spread out equa-distance around the perimeter under the table. In addition, there are 4 casters towards the center of the table, spaced equal-distance about 2 feet away from the pivot point. At some point, while the top is rotating, the load of the motorcycle is being directly above only two of the perimeter casters and all four of the interior casters. One person says to use casters that will pick up the load of the 3 foot x 10 foot wide path the motorcycle sits on, in addition to the load of the rest of the table. The other person says no, the load is equally spread out and the casters only need to be rated to carry the total load of the turntable and motorcycle, divided by 16 casters.

In other words, when the motorcycle rotates and is directly above those casters, are those casters carrying MORE of the load or the same load as the other 10?

Thanks for your time and hope this isn't too elementary. I think the first guy is correct but neither will budge unless they hear it from someone trained in the field.
    Personally, I think the first guy is correct.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 20, 2006 #2
    Unless the center of mass of the motorcycle is over the center of mass of the turntable, the area underneath it will be on the receiving end of greater force than a similar area on the opposite side. And so will the casters under that place. Think torque.