MS in Engineering - Which One?

• Thread starter fizzziks
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineering
In summary, the speaker needs to pursue a technical Masters degree for their job and is considering options in Electrical Engineering, Systems Engineering, and Nanotechnology Engineering. They plan on transitioning to engineering management and have been advised that the type of degree does not matter. They are leaning towards options 2 and 3 and are seeking advice on any potential shortcomings. The expert suggests sticking with a traditional engineering discipline like electrical or systems, and choosing whichever degree is most interesting. They also recommend considering the systems engineering degree for a future career in management.
fizzziks
I have a BSEE degree and the company I work for requires me to get a Masters degree in a technical field. I have a few options and can choose whichever Masters degree I want to pursue... as long as it is technical.

I have this narrowed down to a few degree selections:

1) MS in Electrical Engineering
2) MS in Systems Engineering
3) MS in Nanotechnology Engineering

Now to give you a little bit of my future goals. I don't plan on being an engineer or scientists for much more longer. By the time I finish my graduate degree, I'll be in the engineering management route.

I've spoken to many managers right now and they said they don't really care for what type of graduate degree you have in engineering, but as long as you have one. I honestly don't care either, I'm just doing it because I have to. I know this doesn't sound ideal and you probably think I'm wasting my time, which I might be, but I have to do it for work and the timing fits well. When I say timing, I'll be applying to business school for my MBA after I graduate with my MS in engineering... I'll have obtained enough work experience to hopefully leverage a spot in a top business school.