MS ME: Full Time or Part Time?

In summary, the speaker is a recent BSME graduate with a good job who is debating graduate school. They are considering either going full time or taking one class a semester while continuing to work at the same school they received their BS from. They are unsure if academia is the right fit for them, as they enjoy learning but find homework to be tedious. They have a passion for science and engineering, but also enjoy spending their free time on other hobbies such as music and building vehicles. They have many ideas and projects they would like to pursue on their own, and are considering buying their own shop instead of working in a university lab. They question if sacrificing their passions for school is worth it, but ultimately decide to pursue a full-time MS degree
mooktank
I'm a recent BSME grad with a good job. I'm debating graduate school. I could move away and go full time or I could take 1 class a semester and continue to work full time at the same school I got my BS from.

I'm not sure academia is for me. I thoroughly enjoy learning but homework is annoying unless it serves a purpose other than getting a grade. I learn topics without having to do them necessarily. For example, I pulled off an A- in heat transfer while doing no homework and studying roughly 2 hours for exams. Fluids was similar but I did a lot of the homework although it didn't count towards my grade. That should tell you something about my 'rebel without a cause' nature. The time I saved by slacking at school I spent on building vehicles, making movies, recording music, etc. Things that I really love as much as I love science. I even built my own wood boiler to heat my Dad's shop (I'm a TIG welder as well).