1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

MS vs Double Major

1. Apr 6, 2012 #1
    I am a freshman at CU Boulder currently studying computer science. Currently I am looking at getting a minor in physics as well as the MS in computer science. I was wondering if I should forgo the MS and get a double major with physics in its place since it would be the same number of credits. Either way I will be done in 4 to 4.5 years(total, 3 to 3.5 left). I like both departments equally, it really is just a matter of which combination would be better for getting jobs MS CompSci + Physics Minor or BS CompSci + BS Physics

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 6, 2012 #2

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey blackhawk5367 and welcome to the forums.

With regard to programming, the important thing will be what projects you worked on and what kind of depth of knowledge of both the domain and non-domain aspects with regard to the projects that you are able to communicate to the interviewer. You will of course be tested technically, but it's more important that you have worked in the project environment because projects (1) don't always finish and (2) are very different environment from doing solo work but a very good training background for real software development because:

a) things are getting more complex, and deadlines are shrinking which means you need to have more people that implement things that are more complex and have some kind of management (self-regulated or externally regulated) that makes all of this happen.

b) When you do everything by yourself, you run the risk of having the "I will code everything from scratch" syndrome or the "I will create the perfect code/design" syndrome which will haunt you after you do the interview when you find out how much that outlook hurts you.