1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Multinomial Expansion

1. Jun 21, 2011 #1

Mentallic

Homework Helper

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    1) Find the coefficient of [tex]w^2x^5y^7z^9[/tex] in [tex](w+x+y+z)^{23}[/tex]
    2) When [tex](w+x+y+z)^{23}[/tex] is expanded and terms collected, how many different terms will there be?

3. The attempt at a solution
    Again, I'm studying through my text book and I'm finding these kinds of questions in past exams that aren't present in the book. I'm unsure how to begin.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 21, 2011 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Hi mentallic! :smile:

Do you know the multinomial theorem? This answers your question immediately.

See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multinomial_theorem

Basically, it states that

[tex](x_1+...+x_m)=\sum_{k_1+...+k_m=n}{\binom{n}{k_1,...,k_m}x_1^{k_1}...x_m^{k_m}}[/tex]

So what does that give us in our specific case? Here: m=4 and n=23.

4. Jun 21, 2011 #3

Mentallic

Homework Helper

Oh thanks, that makes finding the answer very simple! :smile:

But the multinomial expansion isn't in our syllabus so I'm guessing we need to argue with separate combinatoric multiplications.

Judging by the multinomial expansion though, I'm guessing the second last step in the solution would be of the form:

[tex]\binom{23}{2}\binom{23-2}{5}\binom{23-2-5}{7}\binom{23-2-5-7}{9}=\frac{23!}{2!5!7!9!}[/tex]

Somehow I need to be able to argue why the coefficient is equal to these combinations?

And I still have no clue how to answer part 2.

5. Jun 21, 2011 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award