1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mv dv = 1/2m d(v^2)?

1. Oct 30, 2012 #1
    I am a physics novice (no formal science education beyond age 16) reading "Space Time and Quanta" by Robert Mills. At one point in the book whislt demonstrating the derivation of 1/2 mv^2 he says "mv dv = 1/2m d(v^2) = d(1/2mv^2)". I have been looking at this for quite a while and consulted other books on calculus but am unable to follow these steps. He seems to be using the reverse power rule to do something similar to integrating it. Could someone please explain these steps to me?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2012 #2
    It's in fact simple. Here m is taken constant, and v is a variable.

d(v^2) = 2v dv
    Thus 1/2m d(v^2) = 1/2m * 2v dv = mv dv.

Next, the constants can be put inside the brackets.

4. Oct 30, 2012 #3
    Thanks for your reply. If I understand you correctly you are saying:
    mv dv
    = 1/2m 2v dv (the 1/2 and the 2 are simply inserted to yield the d(v^2) in the following, so no calculus involved in this step)
    = 1/2m d(v^2)
    = d(1/2mv^2)

So why does d(v^2) = 2v dv? As I understand it dv is an infintesimal amount of v, so d(v^2) is presumably an infintesimal amount of v^2. 2v dv looks like an integral but without the summation symbol. Again I must reiterate, I'm a total novice, so I'm sure this is completeley rudimentary stuff.

5. Oct 30, 2012 #4

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It is an application of the product rule.
    [tex]d(v^2) = d(vv) = v\;dv + v\;dv = 2v\;dv[/tex]
    Therefore,
    [tex]mv\;dv = \dfrac{1}{2}m\;d(v^2)[/tex]
    Assuming the mass is constant, that gives
    [tex]mv\;dv = \dfrac{1}{2}m\;d(v^2) = d\left(\dfrac{1}{2}mv^2\right)[/tex]

6. Oct 30, 2012 #5

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member