My gratiude/thankfulness for PF

• Thread starter Neitrino
  • Start date
In summary, the speakers express their gratitude for an online source called PF, which has been helpful in answering questions related to quantum field theory. One of the speakers asks for guidance on diagonalising Hamiltonians in QFT, specifically in terms of creation and annihilation operators. The other speaker suggests using Fock space, which is defined by a basis that diagonalises the Hamiltonian and momentum operators. They also mention that this procedure leads to states corresponding to particles with definite momentum and energy, following the relativistic dispersion relation. The speaker mentions that this can be found in chapters 2 or 3 of a book called "Peskin and Schroeder."
Neitrino
Dear PF,
Let me once again express you all my gratiude/thankfulness for PF. Many years ago I finished my bachelors courses (physics), but I could not continue Master, I had to work to earn money. But I want to learn it and now the PF remains the major source for the answers to my questions.

Gents,
How do i begin diagonalisation of Hamoltonians (in QFT ) expressed in terms of creation/annihilation operators?

Thks alot

Physics news on Phys.org
Neitrino said:
How do i begin diagonalisation of Hamoltonians (in QFT ) expressed in terms of creation/annihilation operators?

As far as I know, we only know how to do that for free field theories (and some toy models - but I don't know much about those myself).

The answer is Fock space. It is worked out in, for instance, Peskin and Schroeder (and some other books). Fock space is defined by a basis that diagonalises the Hamiltonian and the momentum operators Px, Py and Pz.
It is "sliced up" in 0 - particle (vacuum), 1 - particle, 2 - particle , ... etc... subspaces.