Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

My gratiude/thankfulness for PF

1. Oct 18, 2005 #1
    Dear PF,
    Let me once again express you all my gratiude/thankfulness for PF. Many years ago I finished my bachelors courses (physics), but I could not continue Master, I had to work to earn money. But I want to learn it and now the PF remains the major source for the answers to my questions.

Gents,
    How do i begin diagonalisation of Hamoltonians (in QFT ) expressed in terms of creation/annihilation operators?

Thks alot

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2005 #2

vanesch

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

As far as I know, we only know how to do that for free field theories (and some toy models - but I don't know much about those myself).

The answer is Fock space. It is worked out in, for instance, Peskin and Schroeder (and some other books). Fock space is defined by a basis that diagonalises the Hamiltonian and the momentum operators Px, Py and Pz.
    It is "sliced up" in 0 - particle (vacuum), 1 - particle, 2 - particle , ... etc... subspaces.

The 1-particle states have the peculiarity of having a relationship between the momentum eigenvalues (kx, ky, kz) and the energy eigenvalue (omega), given by the relativistic dispersion relation: E^2 = P^2 + m^2 (c = 1, hbar = 1).