1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

My physics

1. Jul 26, 2005 #1
    hey all, these are going to be my first year physics courses at univ. i was just wondering what you all thought of them! Im majoring in EE and not the greatest fan of physics but these 3 courses are mandatory and i understand why, i was just looking for you input! thanks a bunch. :smile:

PCS 125 Physics I

Forces, fields and potentials for gravitational, electrical and magnetic systems. Oscillations, sound, electromagnetic waves. Geometric and wave optics. Quantization of radiation. (formerly PCS 123).
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lect: 3 hrs./Lab: 1 hr.

PCS 211 Physics II - Mechanics

Newton’s laws, reaction forces, free body diagrams, friction, equilibrium of rigid bodies, torque, centre of gravity, linear and rotational kinematics and dynamics, conservation of linear and angular momentum and energy, moment of inertia, work and power, collisions.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lect: 4 hrs./Lab: 1 hr.

PCS 224 Solid State Physics

Quantum mechanics and quantum nature of solids, properties of materials. Band theory in metals and semiconductors. Conduction processes, the p-n junction, transistors and other solid state devices.

Lect: 3 hrs./Lab: 1 hr.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 26, 2005 #2
    Looks pretty much like the introductory 3 course set, except the order might be a little backwards: the usual order is Mechanics, then E&M and finally Wave Phenomena, or some variation of that. Looks like you are basically covering it all though.

~Lyuokdea

4. Jul 27, 2005 #3
    well, since the classes are...mandatory, looks like it doesn't matter what we think! :tongue: