Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

My stovetop griddle is sick

1. Sep 22, 2012 #1

Pengwuino

Gold Member

I bought me this super sexah double-sided stove top griddle and I've only had it for about a month and it has this weird discoloration on it.

9igx0k.jpg

SEEEEEEEE!?!??!!

I've never used cast iron cookware before and I hear it has some peculiarities. Can anyone tell me what might be happening here?

DISCUSS!!!!!!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 22, 2012 #2

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

It is pengy-fungi-infested.

4. Sep 22, 2012 #3

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Is there a cure?

5. Sep 22, 2012 #4

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Ignore it. Then it slinks away. Usually.

6. Sep 22, 2012 #5

Pengwuino

Gold Member

:grumpy:

7. Sep 22, 2012 #6
    I have the same problem. In fact, mine has turned entirely black.

8. Sep 22, 2012 #7

Astronuc

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Did one leave it in water? The brown colouring appears to be rust. Cast iron corrodes readily in water. If one washes it, dry it quickly. It there is rust, remove the rust with steel wool and reason the CI skillet/pot.

How to use and care for cast iron products.
    http://www.lodgemfg.com/use-care-seasoned-cast-iron.asp [Broken]

http://www.realsimple.com/food-reci...g-cast-iron-skillet-10000001178519/index.html

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  9. Sep 22, 2012 #8

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Looks like rust. Is it an American-made cast iron griddle with a fine grain, or one of those cheap Asian knockoffs that are hard to season, hard to maintain, easy to mess up? Did you season it properly when you first bought it? Do you occasionally re-season it?