Why is My Stovetop Griddle Discoloring After Only a Month of Use?

• Thread starter Pengwuino
  • Start date
In summary: Okay, let's get back on topic. In summary, the user has a cast iron griddle that has developed a rust discoloration after only a month of use. This may be due to improper cleaning and seasoning techniques. The user should scrub off the rust with coarse salt and re-season the griddle properly. It is important to never use soap on cast iron cookware and to regularly re-season to maintain its non-stick properties.
Pengwuino
Gold Member
I bought me this super sexah double-sided stove top griddle and I've only had it for about a month and it has this weird discoloration on it.

9igx0k.jpg

SEEEEEEEE?!

I've never used cast iron cookware before and I hear it has some peculiarities. Can anyone tell me what might be happening here?

DISCUSS!

Physics news on Phys.org
It is pengy-fungi-infested.

arildno said:
It is pengy-fungi-infested.

Is there a cure?

Pengwuino said:
Is there a cure?
Ignore it. Then it slinks away. Usually.

arildno said:
Ignore it. Then it slinks away. Usually.

:grumpy:

I have the same problem. In fact, mine has turned entirely black.

Pengwuino said:
I bought me this super sexah double-sided stove top griddle and I've only had it for about a month and it has this weird discoloration on it.

SEEEEEEEE?!

I've never used cast iron cookware before and I hear it has some peculiarities. Can anyone tell me what might be happening here?

DISCUSS!
Did one leave it in water? The brown colouring appears to be rust. Cast iron corrodes readily in water. If one washes it, dry it quickly. It there is rust, remove the rust with steel wool and reason the CI skillet/pot.

How to use and care for cast iron products.
http://www.lodgemfg.com/use-care-seasoned-cast-iron.asp

http://www.realsimple.com/food-reci...g-cast-iron-skillet-10000001178519/index.html

Last edited by a moderator:
Pengwuino said: