Nanoscale Energy Transport: Speed of Electron Gas in Semiconductor (Chen: 1.10)

In summary, to estimate the average random speed of an electron gas in a semiconductor at 300 K, we can use the Fermi-Dirac distribution equation and calculate the Fermi energy of the semiconductor. This approach is more accurate than using the classical interpretation and kinetic theory. It's important to understand the underlying principles and use the appropriate equations for a rigorous explanation. Best of luck with your studies!
Diomarte
Before I ask the question, let me explain a little bit about myself. I graduated just over a year ago with a bachelors in Physics, and am now starting my first semester of grad school in Energy Engineering. I have been out of practice, and am facing major struggles getting back into my coursework. I understand that the purpose of this forum is not to provide homework solutions, but rather to give a direction or guidelines to finding a solution for the inquiring party. Thank you for your help in this regard. I hope to get back into the swing of things, and become a contributing member of this community soon!

Homework Statement

Speed of Electrons: Estimate the average random speed of an electron gas in a semiconductor at 300 K.

Homework Equations

Fermi-Dirac Distribution: f(E) = 1/(exp[ (E-u)/(KbT)]+1.
Mass of Electron: 9.1x10^-31kg
Classical Interpretation and Kinetic Theory: 1/2mv^2 = 3/2 KbT <== I'm tempted to use this, but I find it unreliable and not accurate for an electron gas, but that could just be me making things more difficult than they need to be... If this were the case, then obviously v would be Sqrt(3KbT/mass), which comes out to be about 1.5x10^5. Which IS in fact a relatively close estimate for semiconductors, BUT it's hardly what I'd call a rigorous explanation.

The Attempt at a Solution

See above related to classical interpretation and Kinetic Theory of Gasses.

Thanks again!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org