1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: NaOH Vs C2H5-OH

1. Jan 13, 2018 #1

navneet9431

Gold Member

• Please post this type of questions in the homework section using the template and showing your work and what you already know.
    If we put NaOH in water then it disassociates into ##OH^{-}## ions(hydroxyl ions) but if we put ##C_2H_5OH## in water it does not disassociates into ##OH^{-}## ions.
    What is the reason that ##NaOH## disassociates into ##OH^{-}## ions(hydroxyl ions) whereas ##C_2H_5OH## does not disassociate into ##OH^{-}## ions when dissolved in water?
    I will be thankful for help!
    NOTE: I am a High School student and English is my second language.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2018
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 13, 2018 #2

Borek

Staff: Mentor

Have you heard about ionic bonds and covalent bonds?

4. Jan 13, 2018 #3

navneet9431

Gold Member

Yes

5. Jan 13, 2018 #4

Borek

So try to think in these terms. What do you know about compounds involved, how should they behave in water?

6. Jan 13, 2018 #5

navneet9431

Gold Member

I can only think that both of them will dissolve in water.
    But,i can't think why ##NaOH## disassociates into ##H^{-}## ions while ##C_2H_5OH## doesn't?

7. Jan 13, 2018 #6

Borek

You have ignored the part about ionic and covalent bonds. Can you classify these compounds as ionic or covalent?

8. Jan 13, 2018 #7

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Sodium ions and hydroxide ions; strongly ionized

Acetate and hydronium ions; weakly ionized

9. Jan 13, 2018 #8

navneet9431

Gold Member

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Two elements ##NaOH##(Base) and ##C_2H_5OH##(Alcohol)
    2. Relevant equations