Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Aerospace Need advice from mech/aero space engineers

1. Feb 22, 2005 #1
    Hello, I'm a sophomore in college getting a dual degree in mechanical/aerospace engineering. I pretty much know everything we're doing in classes or everything is really easy so I have a lot of free time on my hands. What do you think I can do that will help me in my future career? I was thinking about getting a program like mathematica and playing around with it or reading online about engines and how they work and stuff but I think I'll just learn about those things down the road. What do you think?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 22, 2005 #2

PerennialII

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I'd focus on the things you "don't have time for" or don't bump into down the road ... like math and everything which helps you in building up a good theoretical - basis. "Later in life" it seems that the threshold for learning & finding the time for this type material is really hard to come by ("disclaimer" : this is just me and I typically overemphasize theory, let's see what others have to say).

4. Feb 22, 2005 #3

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

Right now, the soph. level is just finishing up the pre-requisites and the basic engineering classes. You haven't really gotten to the meat and potatoes of the curricula. I'd say that if you have free time, enjoy it while you can (possibly spend some time studying the definition of "humility"), because it won't/shouldn't last. Even if you perfectly understood every topic presented to you, there should be enough homework, reports, projects, etc... to keep you burried for quite a while.

BTW...what exactly is your desired career?

5. Feb 22, 2005 #4

brewnog

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Free time? On an engineering degree? Are you sure you have the right timetable?

Well, if you insist!