Need help understanding voltage

• Thread starter remedemic
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Voltage
In summary: The key point is that voltage is relative between two points. When you measure voltage, you are measuring the difference in energy concentration between those two points. So if you have a resistor, there will be a difference in energy concentration (voltage) between the two ends of it, but the total amount of energy per charge does not decrease. It's like a water slide - the water at the top has more potential energy (higher voltage) than the water at the bottom, but the total amount of water (charge) is the same. The resistor just decreases the voltage difference, not the total amount of energy per charge. Does that make more sense?In summary, voltage is a measure of the energy concentration per unit
remedemic
Greetings,

I am a high school student that is trying to learn about electronics and circuits for a hobby, and I just cannot understand voltage. Some resources are telling me that it is a "potential difference" between two points, while other resources are telling me that it is simply the electrical force being exerted at a certain point. With the first definition, I am under the impression that two points are needed to measure voltage, while with the second definition, voltage can be measured at one single point.

Could someone explain to me what voltage exactly is in the most basic form possible?
Help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Engineering news on Phys.org
remedemic,

... and I just cannot understand voltage. Some resources are telling me that it is a "potential difference" between two points, while other resources are telling me that it is simply the electrical force being exerted at a certain point. With the first definition, I am under the impression that two points are needed to measure voltage, while with the second definition, voltage can be measured at one single point.