Need help understanding voltage

1. Greetings,

I am a high school student that is trying to learn about electronics and circuits for a hobby, and I just cannot understand voltage. Some resources are telling me that it is a "potential difference" between two points, while other resources are telling me that it is simply the electrical force being exerted at a certain point. With the first definition, I am under the impression that two points are needed to measure voltage, while with the second definition, voltage can be measured at one single point.

Could someone explain to me what voltage exactly is in the most basic form possible?
    Help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. davenn

davenn 3,813
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2014 Award

hi there
    welcome to PF :)

here is another new thread discussing the same question as yours

https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=676135

hopefully that will sort you out
    any further questions just ask :)

cheers
    Dave

4. remedemic,