Effect of Inhibitors on Enzyme Activity: Enzyme Lab Exam Help

• Thread starter cmantzioros
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Lab
In summary, the conversation discusses an experiment on the effect of inhibitors on enzyme activity, specifically the reaction of hydrogen peroxide and peroxidase. The use of hydroxylamine as an inhibitor and guaiacol as an indicator is mentioned. The participant is unsure about the expected absorbance values for different test tubes and asks for clarification. It is mentioned that tubes without enzyme or substrate will not have a reaction and remain clear.
cmantzioros
I'm studying for a lab exam tomorrow and I just want to make sure of some things.

One of the experiments was on the effect of inhibitors on enzyme activity. We were studying the reaction 2 H2O2 (hydrogen peroxide) --> 2 H2O + O2. This reaction uses the enzyme peroxidase. Hydroxylamine (HONH2) is structurally similar to hydrogen peroxide so it competes with it for peroxidase's active site thereby preventing peroxidase from binding with hydrogen peroxide and inhibiting the reaction. But a high enough concentration of substrate with a constant concentration of inhibitor will reduce the inhibition. I used guaiacol as an indicator. It turns colourless to brown when it becomes oxidized and the intensity of the brown is proportional to the amount of oxygen produced. I was supposed to have a used a spectrophotometer to measure the absorbance versus time but I ran out of time in the lab period... We had 10 test tubes:

1. water + guaiacol (indicator)
2. water + hydrogen peroxide (substrate)
3. water + guaiacol + hydroxylamine (inhibitor)
4. water + guaiacol + hydrogen peroxide
5. water + guaiacol + peroxidase (enzyme)
6-10. water + guaiacol + increasing volumes of hydrogen peroxide with each + constant volume of peroxidase + constant volume of hydroxlamine