1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need Help with Surface Integral

1. Oct 14, 2006 #1
    The Problem
    Evaluate the surface integral of

[tex]
    G(x, y, z) = \frac{1}{1 + 4(x^2+y^2)}
    [/tex]

where [itex]z[/itex] is the paraboloid defined by

[tex]
    z = x^2 + y^2
    [/tex],

from [itex]z = 0[/itex] to [itex]z = 1[/itex].
    My Work

I rewrote [itex]G(x, y, z)[/itex] as

[tex]\frac{1}{1+4z}[/tex].

Then, I evaluated the surface integral (I'm skipping a few steps in the evaluation here):

[tex]
    \int \!\!\! \int_R \frac{1}{1+4z} \sqrt{1+4z} \,dA = \int \!\!\! \int_R \frac{1}{\sqrt{1+4z}}
    [/tex].

My Confusion
    I do not understand how to evaluate this integral properly. I am not experienced in multiple integration, but I have not found an issue with it until now.

Basically, what are my differential elements supposed to be ([itex]dx, dy[/itex]?). Am I supposed to use polar coordinates here?

If someone could put me on the correct track, I would appreciate it. Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 14, 2006 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

You dropped "dA" from the last integral. One of the things you need to decide is how to write the differential of surface area- thre are several different ways to do that. In particular, you need to decide whether you will project onto the xy-plane, the yz-plane, the xz-plane, or use parametric equations for the surface. I can't possibly decide whether you are "supposed" to use polar coordinates- but it might be a good idea to use them!