Negative times negative

• Thread starter Taturana
  • Start date
What's the proof for a negative number times another negative number gives a positive number?

Thank you

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor
Are you studying the arithmetic of numbers? Or are you studying something more advanced like algebra.

If you are studying algebra, perhaps what you want to see is a proof of something like
(-x)(-y) = xy. ( Strictly speaking a number like "-x" isn't necessarily "a negative" For example if x = -3 then -x is a positive number. )

Are you studying the arithmetic of numbers? Or are you studying something more advanced like algebra.

If you are studying algebra, perhaps what you want to see is a proof of something like
(-x)(-y) = xy. ( Strictly speaking a number like "-x" isn't necessarily "a negative" For example if x = -3 then -x is a positive number. )
I'm studying arithmetic of numbers. I want to understand why the product of, say, -3 for -4 is 12 and not -12.

Thanks

0 = 0 * (-4) = (-3 + 3)(-4) = (-3)(-4) + (3)(-4)

Presumably you know that 3(-4) = -12. Since (-3)(-4) + (3)(-4) = 0, (-3)(-4) and (3)(-4) must be additive inverses, which implies that (-3)(-4) = 12.

In order to prove anything, you have to start with something. What are you starting with?

Basically, it's true because we want it to be true. If we would choose something else, then things would not behave so nicely. For example, we wouldn't have distributivity.

Alternatively, if you're into geometry, then you can easily see why we want it to be true. Take a vector. Multiplying by -1 flips the vector. And multiplying again, flips the vector again. So doing -1 and -1 again gives you nothing. So (-1)(-1)=1.
Of course, this is not a proof, but merely an indication of why we want it to be true. Like many things is math, this is just a convention. But it's a convention which works really well with physics and the real world!!!!

jhae2.718

Gold Member
Isn't it just axiomatic?

gb7nash

Homework Helper