Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Nerve cells

1. Apr 26, 2005 #1
    Nerve cells helps transfering information and creating our perceptions, then some perceptions will be stored in our memory, but why are there only "some" not all perceptions ? :confused:
    My books says so...
    Sorry for newb question, I am new with brain and head.
    Thank you
    Chuck Jones

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 26, 2005 #2
    It might help if you phrased your question a bit better and used more formal language, but that's quite excusable =)

I think you're being a bit too picky about what your book reads; the simple answer would be that you don't possibly remember every perception that you experience; you only store certain memories, not all of them.

4. Apr 26, 2005 #3

JamesU

Gold Member

he's asking, "why?". :rofl:

5. Apr 26, 2005 #4
    I am sorry my english is bad,
    Yes, i am asking why...
    and plus, what will be most memorised and how to know discover it if I am not the one to have such perceptions ?

6. Apr 26, 2005 #5
    its reinforcement (positive OR negative..but many factors are involved)....sort of like honing a skill OR sometimes associating yourself with the situation in a peculiar way.
    This changes what happens in your brain(HEBB learning)

Like if you wanna play bball what do you do...you take 100s-1000s of shots till you perfect a method....for studying ....some people use cue cards others make rhymes.

Now as i understand the question your asking why not remmeber everything...becuase hte brain evolves synapses(associations) are broken or used for other stuff...