Understanding Tensors: A Beginner's Guide to Relativity | New Member Question

In summary, tensors are mathematical objects that are defined at a specific point and can transform themselves into different coordinates. They are linear and can be represented by matrices and vectors, but are more general than those concepts. They are essential in understanding concepts like the electromagnetic field and the stress tensor from continuum mechanics. However, to fully understand tensors, one must have a solid understanding of linear algebra and calculus. In the context of special relativity, the electric and magnetic fields alone are not tensors, but they can be combined into a tensor known as the Faraday tensor.
resurgance2001
Hi

No doubt this question has been asked by many before. I am new to the study of Relativity. I have spent several months reading this and that and generally getting very confused.

One thing that I just can't get passed is understanding even what the heck tensors are. Every single book or article that I have found that calls itself an introduction starts with a definition which just reads to my limited understanding as complete double dutch. Can anyone help explain in completely non mathematical terms what tensors are?

Gratefully

Peter

Physics news on Phys.org
resurgance2001 said:
Can anyone help explain in completely non mathematical terms what tensors are?
But tensors are mathematical objects. How do you explain them in completely non-mathematical terms?

Do you know what scalars, vectors and matrices are?

resurgance2001 said:
Hi

No doubt this question has been asked by many before. I am new to the study of Relativity. I have spent several months reading this and that and generally getting very confused.