Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

1. Jun 23, 2016 #1
    Hello all,
    My name is Jeremy and I am a 21 year old student in community college. I am at the beginning of my path as a physics major and am always looking for more knowledge and insight. I am working on my transfer degree and, once I earn my BA, I want to go on to graduate school to pursue a PhD in astrophysics. I am a first generation student in my family so if anyone has any advice, I am always appreciative of that. I look forward to being a part of this community.
    Best,
    Jeremy

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 23, 2016 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Welcome to the forum Jeremy. Are you taking any physics course this semester?

Advice:
    study hard
    the professor is always right
    work a lot of the problems in the books to get used to the math manipulations
    always make sure your units cancel properly. Don't do the math without the units.
    stay out of trouble.
    wash behind your ears

4. Jun 23, 2016 #3
    Haha thanks for the advice! And I am not currently taking any physics courses since the series I need to do doesn't start until fall term. I have only recently decided on my path and that was all thanks to a very influential astronomy professor. Right now I am taking 16 credits for summer term and have been trying to get my math up to speed. At the moment I am taking integral calculus.

5. Jun 23, 2016 #4

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Well good luck. We've got some great math guys here so if you need help, just ask. Make sure to use the template for homework problems. This is a forum where the rules are actually taken seriously.

6. Jun 23, 2016 #5