Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

New on here

1. Jul 31, 2006 #1

lo2

Now I am new on here and therefore I thought that I wanted to drop a message in which I said Hello to all the people on here.

I am not from the US in fact I am from Denmark a small country in Europe. I am basicly here for the math, as I like math and am pretty good at it. I am currently atteding to High School I am at my last year. I think that afterwards I will go study math at the University. However I do not know that for sure yet. I am looking forward to spend some time on here increasing my knowledge on math and improving my math abilities.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 31, 2006 #2
    Welcome I'm studying senior high school(college in the UK) type maths atm, and it's a far cry from the English, school math, it's fun most times, but integration has slipped a real wedge into the equation(if you'll pardon the pun), it's very tough to know what rule you have to use and what little trick and strategy, but I've been told it's the toughest part of A' level maths so I'm resolving to give it some real attention, as I seem to have lost some headway, damn I was cruising 'til then. Why can't integration be more like differentiation :smile:

4. Jul 31, 2006 #3
    Welcome to PF! Math is awesome :biggrin:

5. Jul 31, 2006 #4
    Welcome from one foreign n00b to another!

6. Jul 31, 2006 #5
    Check out Maple. It is a math software package that has some excellent calculus (among other things) tutors.

Once you have maple open goto:
    Tools > Calculus - Single Variable > Integration Methods

The integration methods will walk you step by step to solve "simple" integrals. It will remind you of differentiation methods in some regards. I found it really helpful when I was learning integration.

7. Jul 31, 2006 #6