Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

New Scientist Magazine

1. Jan 12, 2010 #1
    @admin: Sorry if this is supposed to be in some other forum. If this is in the wrong forum, feel free to move it

I want to get a science magazine that centers around math, physics, and engineering. After looking on a few websites "New Scientist" seems interesting. Does anyone have an opinion on this? Or, is there a better magazine out there?
    For some background info: I am a high school senior so I want to make sure that im not getting anything too technical where it goes over my head (ie you need a physics degree to even understand the article).

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 12, 2010 #2
    New Scientist is pretty good as far as scientific journalism goes. I'm an engineer and tend to read more engineering based magazines, but as far as keeping abreast of new scientific 'stuff' i've found NS to be quite acessible.

If you are enjoy one particular area of science, then a more dedicated magazine may suit your needs better.

4. Jan 12, 2010 #3
    what kind of engineering stuff do u read (or would that stuff go over my head)?

5. Jan 12, 2010 #4

nicksauce

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I find New Scientist very often over-sensationalizes things, and it's quite annoying.

6. Jan 12, 2010 #5
    Then what would you recommend?

7. Jan 12, 2010 #6

nicksauce

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

SciAm, or Discover.

8. Jan 12, 2010 #7

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

New Scientist is aimed at your level.
    As somebody said it can be a bit journalistic-sensationalist but its generally reputable (ie. most university tea rooms will have copies.

Scientific American is a bit more serious, but also a bit humourless. Basically the same level.

9. Jan 13, 2010 #8

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

10. Jan 13, 2010 #9

Wallace

Science Advisor